my thoughts on all sorts of creative things

Perfume bottles

I have always been fascinated with perfume bottles, mainly because of the shape and colours. I keep many perfume adverts from magazines and newspapers and keep the bottles when my perfume or my daughters’ perfumer finishes.

The oldest known perfume bottles came from the Ancient Egyptians. Perfume bottles found in Palestine were made of glass and had narrow long necks. The Ancient Greeks made beautiful containers for perfume. They hand painted vases which were often shaped as animals and used lidded bowls for less expensive perfume.

When I last counted them in February 2012 I had 82 bottles and I will continue to collect them.

Leave a Reply

